Hiawatha students recognized at FFA banquet | Schools

Hiawatha High School’s annual FFA banquet was held earlier this month and several club members were recognized with prizes and scholarships.

Jeanie Wege, HHS Agricultural Instructor and FFA Advisor, wanted to thank Pam Chadwell for catering the meal and also Pastor Jim Farris for the invocation and prayer, as well as his wonderful story about his agricultural history.

The banquet meal and award plaque sponsors were: Ag Partners COOP, Skyview Equipment, Lentz Express, Citizen State Bank, Clark Agronomics, GNBank, Bruna Implement, NEK Vet Services, Pederson Seed, SweetPro Feeds, Maximum Realty, Maximum Insurance, Hiawatha Implement, Johansen Horseshoe Art, Hiawatha Farm & Home, Frontier Farm Credit, Nick Blevins Farms, Wolf River Quail Forever.

This year’s officers were also recognized: P- Sidney Johansen, VP- Allison Arment, Sec- Carli Mueller, Treas- Addy Kopp, Rep- Jake Rieger, Sent- Paige Stover. Joel Bryan served as a student adviser.

The new officers for the 2022 – 2023 academic year are: Pres – Addy Kopp, VP – Grace Morey, Sec – Abby Kettler, Treas – Annika Reschke, Reporter – Amarya Edie, Sentinel – Tyler Willich, Student Adv. – Joey Meyer, MP – Marcus Hinton, Historian – Maddy Simmons, POA Committee Chair – Brenna Ward, 8th CTE – Aden Grathwohl.

Among the students receiving awards was Annika Reschke with the Star Greenhand Award. This recognition goes to the Greenhand, or first-year member, who achieved the highest total activity points, as well as the highest academic scores. This year there were a total of 35 Grennhands, who graduated.

Sidney Johansen received the Jere Bruning Leadership Award from Jere Bruning. Johansen hatched, purchased, raised and maintained a flock of chickens at home. She buys food, takes care of the chickens and sells the eggs. For his efforts, Sidney also received the Poultry Proficiency Award.

John Howard presented the AFA scholarships to Allison Arment and Joel Bryan. These students applied and interviewed to receive financial aid, as well as leadership conference training. The AFA is sponsored by Howard Farms and Farm Credit.

Acacia Erdley and Aden Grathwohl received plaques for their Credo presentation.

The Proficiency Awards program is designed to recognize members who demonstrate exceptional progress in their supervised farm experience programs. There are 39 possible areas in which to compete. The awards are designed to allow students to compete with members at the chapter, district, state, and national level. The award is based on participation, program growth, acquired skills and leadership activities. These awards are also given to students who have excelled in their various supervised farm experience programs.

Allison Arment received the Ag Sales & Service award. She is employed at Hiawatha Farm & Home. Wege said many residents saw (or heard) her at checkout. She assists customers by locating items, answering phone calls, cleaning shelves and stocking new inventory. Wege said Arment had worked after school and on weekends for the past year and a half to earn pocket money and save for college.

Maverik Shafer and Joel Bryan received farm mechanics awards.

Addy Kopp received a horticulture award. Wege said that Kopp not only helped with chores, around the house and during harvest, but that she took a real interest in the FFA school greenhouse and helped propagate, transplant and water, many items that you will see available at our next spring sale.

“She has a real eye for arranging floral designs and creating pots or patio containers, as well as hanging baskets,” Wege said. “She also created the signs identifying the plants and their space and water needs, so customers can learn more about the items they’re buying.”

The Hiawatha FFA Scholarship presentation was presented by Amy Kopp to Allison Arment – ​​who will be attending KSU and majoring in agricultural education.

An honorary degree presentation was made to Kathy Johansen for her years of service to agricultural education and FFA.

Greenhand Diploma recipients are: Cameron Boswell, Jason Collins, Alija Contreras, Malaya Donato, Amarya Edie, Acacia Erdley, Aden Geisendorf, Drake Gonzales, Aden Grathwohl, Cooper Handke, Marcus Hinton, Dana Howard, Kaden Johnson, Abby Kettler, Trysten McGrew, Josh Monaghan, Matthew Monaghan, Paul Mueller, Alex Pyle, Annika Reschke, Mavrik Shafer, Maddy Simmons, Blake Simpson, Tyler Willich, Kameron Winder.

The Chapter Degree recipients are: Aubrey Kent, Kaiden Lee, Maggie Pierce, Mariah Shafer, Dalton Simmer.

Career development results 2021 – 2022:

Nursery/Landscape: Team A: 5th place; *Addy Kopp – 10th individual; Team B: 8th place team

Dairy cattle judging: Team B: 10th place; *Our High Ind. -Tyler Willich

Public Speaking/Speech: Second Division: Cooper Handke – 7th, Aden Geisendorf – 11th

Credo: Casey Erdley & Aden Grathwohl;

Freshman Division: Marcus Hinton, Annika Reschke and Cameron Boswell.

Extra Freshman Division: Dana Howard – 1st;

Div. extra top (10-12): Jason Collins

Meat identification and evaluation: Team B: 8th place overall; Our High Ind. :Maggie Pierce

Employability skills: (CV, application and job interview)

Team A: (SR) Allison Arment – 5th place; Dalton Stewed

Team B: (JR) Addy Kopp – 4th place; Grace Morey – 7th place

Agricultural mechanics: (welding, electricity, small motors and carpentry)

Team A: 12th place (senior team and Mavrik Shafer)

Team B: 5th place team; Joey Meyer – 1st place individual

Poultry: Team A: 10th overall; High Ind. – Sidney Johansen

Team B: 9th overall; Our high GH – Marcus Hinton

Milk Quality / Dairy Products: Team A: 1st Place Team

Individual Team Members: Mariah Shafer – 5th, Joey Meyer – 7th,

Marcus Hinton – 9th, Cameron Boswell – 11th

Individual Team Members: Alex Pyle – 6th, Paul Mueller – 9th, Kameron Winder – 11th place

Floriculture: Team A: 2nd place team; (Sidney, Allison, Grace and Aden) with Carli Mueller -10th, Addy Kopp – 12th

Team B: 10th: Maddy Simmons-9th, Dana Howard-10th, Casey Erdley-15th

Food sciences: Team A: 8th; Joel Bryan – 2nd place individual

Team B: 6th overall; Dana Howard – 12th Ind.

Vet Science: A – Team: 12th; Addy Kopp – 14th High Ind.

Team B: 5th; Amarya Edie – 2nd High Ind.

Yarn judging: Team A: 2nd place overall

* Joey Meyer – 1st place ind.

Agricultural communications and journalism:

Individual general classification: Allison Arment – 2nd;

Addy Kopp – 5th, Dalton Simmer – 6th

Internships: Journalistic writing: Joel Bryan – 2nd

Opinion Writing: Addy Kopp – 2nd

Website development: Dalton Simmer – 3rd

Video script: Allison Arment – 2nd