4 UCLA Health physicians elected to Association of American Physicians

Four UCLA physicians have been elected to the Association of American Physicians, an honor bestowed upon no more than 70 physicians per year.

UCLA’s 2022 recipients are neurologist Timothy Cloughesy, infectious disease specialist Judith Currier, primary care physician Carol Mangione and cardiologist Kalyam Shivkumar. Their election brings the membership of the UCLA AAP and the UCLA David School of Medicine to 38.

Dr. Timothy Cloughesy is an innovator in brain tumor treatment, working in both basic and clinical areas to bring disease-modifying therapies into the clinic. He has led pioneering clinical trials increasing patient survival and is the co-founder, developer and global principal investigator of a breakthrough adaptive platform trial for cancer.

Dr. Judith Currier contributed to improving care for people living with HIV. She has played a leading role in trials that defined when prophylaxis of opportunistic infections could be stopped, identified strategies to optimize antiretroviral therapy in adults and pregnant women, and identified risks and interventions to reduce harms. long-term complications of HIV.

Dr. Carol Mangione is a pioneer in understanding how system-level interventions, benefit design and cost sharing affect quality and outcomes for people with diabetes. She has identified system-level and patient-level approaches that can mitigate health disparities for racial/ethnic minorities, older adults, and people with chronic conditions or visual impairment.

Dr Kalyanam Shivkumar is a physician-researcher specializing in interventional cardiac electrophysiology. His research focuses on fundamental aspects of cardiac neural control. He was a pioneer in the field of clinical neurocardiology and the translation of neuromodulation therapies into the clinical setting. He also promoted the concept of the “internet of the human body” to highlight the key biological principles that underlie the nervous system’s control of all organs.

“I am very pleased that these outstanding medical scientists have received this well-deserved honor,” said Dr. Steven Dubinett, acting dean of the Geffen School of Medicine.

The Association of American Physicians is an honorary society founded in 1885 for the “advancement of scientific and practical medicine”. Election to the organization is extended to physicians with outstanding credentials in basic or translational biomedical research. The AAP has approximately 1,300 active members and 700 emeritus and honorary members. Members of the AAP have included Nobel laureates and members of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine.